Connect with us


President Buhari approves reopening of 4 extra land borders

President Buhari approves reopening of four more land borders

President Muhammadu Buhari has permitted the reopening of 4 extra land borders. The borders are Idiroko in Ogun, Jibiya in Katsina, Kamba in Kebbi and Ikom in Cross River.

Recall that as a part of measures to curb the proliferation of unlawful importation of medicine, small arms and agricultural merchandise into Nigeria from neighbouring West African countries, President Buhari in August 2019 ordered the closure of land borders.

In 2020, the president ordered the reopening of borders in Seme in Lagos, Illela in Sokoto, Maigatari in Jigawa, and Mfum in Cross River.

A memo released by the deputy comptroller-general of the NCS, E, I. Edorhe, and released on April 22, disclosed that the President has given an order for the reopening of the borders.

“Sequel to the presidential directive dated 16 December, 2020, granting approval for phased reopening of land borders specifically; Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders throughout the nation, I’m directed to tell you that 4 extra borders listed beneath have been accepted for re-opening: Idiroko border post, Ogun state (south-west zone); Jibiya border post, Katsina (north-west zone); Kamba border post, Kebbi state (north-west zone); and Ikom border post, Cross River state (south-south zone),” the memo reads.

Consequently, all customs formations and JBPTs are to take notice and be sure that correct manning takes place in compliance with extant operational tips.”the memo learn in part

Follow across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click to comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More in News