Connect with us


Soludo sets up Biafra agitation panel, appoints Odinkalu, Bianca, Charly Boy, others

The committee, to be headed by Prof Chidi Odinkalu, with Amb. Bianca Ojukwu as secretary is termed – Truth, Justice and Peace Committee.

Secretary to the State Authorities, Anambra State, Prof. Solo Osita Chukwulobelu, who signed a press assertion disclosing this, reeled out terms of reference to the committee.

The purpose of the Committee on Truth, Justice, and Peace is to seek a restorative justice method for truth-telling or real details, for the healing of the victims of the violence.

Accounting for duty and accountability of the actors, conditional mercy for the repentant perpetrators, restitution for sure losses and rehabilitation of the perpetrators, for the general goal of restoration of peace and justice as well as the promotion of growth in the State, and the region/Nigeria.

Terms of Reference for the Committee are: to establish the remote and instant causes of the agitations, restiveness, violence, and armed struggle within the South East since 1999.

Document victims/circumstances of demise, brutality and incarceration, determine stakeholders and teams who’ve performed crucial roles within the agitations and conflicts, their roles, capabilities and demands.

Handle some other situation(s) which may be germane to unravelling the extent of the crisis and charting the roadmap for the long run and make recommendations for sustainable peace and safety in Anambra state/Southeast,” he stated.

Chukwulobelu mentioned the committee could have a direct reporting line to the Governor, might be provided with administrative assist to carry out its duties, and can conclude its work no later than six months from its inauguration.

In the meantime, different members of the committee embrace; Dr. Joe Nwaorgu, Dr. Udenta Udenta, Dr. Uju Agomoh, Rev. Fr (Msgnr) Jerome Madueke and, Dr. Okechukwu C. Obi-Okoye.

Others are; Mr. Charles Oputa (Charly Boy), Dr. John Otu, Mr. Ngozi Odumuko, Ms Onyeka Onwenu, Dr. Joe Abah, Mr. Chukwuma Okpalaezeukwu, Mr. Sam Egwuatu and Prof. Joseph Ikechebelu.

Follow across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click to comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


More in Politics